We have moved to www.dartsnutz.net
Darts Nutz forum has now moved to www.dartsnutz.net please register on that site instead.

Thanks!

Darts Nutz forum has now moved to www.dartsnutz.net please register on that site instead.

Thanks!

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Re-register a new account there please

HomeLatest imagesChanging points on new darts? LPRegisterLog in

Photobucket

map1
Display Pagerank

Changing points on new darts?

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Taffy

Taffy

Changing points on new darts? Empty
PostSubject: Changing points on new darts?   Changing points on new darts? EmptyWed Jan 23, 2013 4:28 am

Now when I started playing darts in the mid 70’s, a person would buy a set of darts and use them with the points they came with, and I still do this to this day. I don’t recall players buying darts and changing the points straight away in those days. However, these days, it’s become quite the norm. So my question is, how do you know whether to change points or not? I suppose if you rest a finger on the point of the dart then Storm Points would come into their own, but, apart from that???

This may sound like a silly question, but, seriously I don’t know the answer? I assume that if the dart lands awkward in the board, then this could indicate you need to change to a different length perhaps (or am I barking up the wrong tree here?), but, if this is the case, then how do you know whether to change to shorter, or longer points?
Back to top Go down
Skyblueadam

Skyblueadam

PostSubject: Re: Changing points on new darts?   Changing points on new darts? EmptyWed Jan 23, 2013 5:14 am

Justin pipe uses long points and his darts land flat but so do taylors with standards so its got to be how you throw them.
I'd assume longer points = flatter landing
Shorter = higher angle
Because the weight at the end would be pushing the point down with long points.